arrow September 2020 arrow


Decisions concerning the authorisation of general, vocational and higher education institutions are made by the Authorisation Councils for General, Vocational and Higher Education institutions the members of which are appointed and dismissed by the Prime Minister of Georgia on the proposal of the Ministry. Each Council consists of 9 members the term of office of which constitutes one year. The members of the Authorisation Council could not be public officials. The responsibilities of the councils are envisaged by the authorisation charter, which guarantees the independent functioning of the councils from educational and state institutions.


Members of Authorisation Council for Higher Educational Institutions:


Manana Mikaberidze - Deputy Director General, LEPL – Shota Rustaveli National Science Foundation, Chairperson of the Council;

David Aprasidze
– Full Professor, Head of Administration (Chancellor), LEPL – Ilia State University; Deputy Chairperson of the Council;

Tinatin Bregvadze
- South Caucasus Regional Coordinator, Academic Fellowship Program, N(N)LE – Open Society Georgia Foundation;

Anano Giorgadze
- PhD student, LEPL – Ilia State University, Council Secretary;

Tamar Zarandia
- Associate Professor, Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Law, LEPL – Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University;

Konstantine Sirbiladze
- Professor, LEPL – Akaki Tsereteli State University;

Grigol Murghulia
- Education Expert;

Nino Cinchaladze
- Executive Director, N(N)LE – Center for International Education;

Mariam Jashi
– Executive Director, N(N)LE – Solidarity Fund of Georgia.

Members of Authorisation Council for Vocational Educational Institutions:

Ketevan Jaqeli –Director, LEPL−Zurab Jhvania Public Administration School; Chairperson of the Council;

Saba Sarishvili
− Business Development Advisor, Chemonics International, implementer of USAID’s “The ZRDA Activity in Georgia” project; Deputy Chairperson of the Council;

Elguja Meladze
− President, N(N)LE – Georgian Employers’ Association;

Maia Chikhladze
– Vice- President, N(N)LE – Private Colleges Association of Georgia; Deputy Director, Community College “Panacea” Ltd.

Mamia Janjalia 
− Deputy Head, LEPL−Education Management Information System (EMIS);

Irakli Petriashvili
– Chairperson, N(N)LE−Georgian Trade Unions Confederation (GTUC);

Marika Shioshvili
– Project Manager, Fostering Regional and Local Development in Georgia (UNDP in Georgia);

Nikoloz Chachkhiani
–Vocational Education Expert, Chemonics International;

Irakli Baidashili
− Vice-President & Treasurer, American Chamber of Commerce in Georgia; Vice-President, GMT Group; Council Secretary.


Members of Authorisation Council for General Education Institutions:

Irina Abuladze – Deputy Director, LEPL – National Center for Teacher Professional Development; Chairperson of the Council;

Irina Khantadze
– Executive Director, N(N)LE – Centre for Training and Consultancy, Deputy Chairperson of the Council;

Revaz Apkhazava
– Acting Executive Director, N(N)LE – International Institute for Education Policy, Planning and Management (EPPM);

Giorgi Gigiberia
– Program Manager, N(N)LE – Center for International Education;

Marina Ushveridze – Head of Civic Education Programs, PH International;

Nino Kodua – Teacher of Biology, LEPL – Tbilisi Public School №55;

Ketevan Chkuaseli - Professor, Doctor of Education, LEPL – Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University;

Khatuna Barabadze
– Director, LEPL – Tbilisi First Experimental School;

Tamar Pkhaladze
– Leading Specialist, Philologist, School of Humanities and Law, N(N)LE – St. Andrew the First-Called Georgian University of Georgian Patriarchate, Council Secretary.

  • 1 Aleksidze st, 0193, Tbilisi, Georgia (former building of Razmadze Mathematical Institute, IV Floor, in the neighborhood of Sports Palace)
  • (+995 32) 2 200 220 (*3599)